Abbreviated Curriculum Vitae of D. D. Sarma

Professional preparations

- 5-year Integrated M.Sc. in Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (1972-1977)
- Ph.D., Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru (1977-1982)
- Research Associate, IISc (1982-1983)

Professional career

- Guest Scientist (1984-1986), Kernforschungsanlage, Jülich, Germany
- Lecturer (1986-1989), IISc
- Assistant Professor (1989-93), IISc
- Associate Professor (1993-99), IISc
- Professor (1999-2021) including J.N.

Tata Chair Professor (2017-2020), IISc

- Honorary Professor (2021-2026), IISc
- MLS Chair Professor of Physics and Founder-Chairman, Centre for Advanced Materials, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata (2006-2008). (On lien from IISc)
- Distinguished Scientist (2011-2016), Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (Concurrent position).

Selected Honors and Awards

- Elected fellow of all three science academies and the engineering academy in India and of TWAS and APS.
- The Bernard Coqblin Prize, ICSCES, Okayama, Japan, 2019
- Honoris Causa Doctorate Degrees from Uppsala University, Sweden, 2015 and from Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, 2015
- Distinguished Alumnus Award of IIT Kanpur, 2014
- Knight of the Order of the Star of Italy by the Republic of Italy, 2014
- H K Firodia Award for Excellence in Science & Technology, 2013
- National Research Award in Nano Science and Technology, 2009
- TWAS Physics Prize 2006
- J.C. Bose National Fellow, 2006-2023

- Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Chemistry, 1994
- UNESCO biennial Javed Husain Prize, 1989
- Delivered >30 named/prize lectures
- Visiting professorships including Gaspard Monge Visiting Professor at École Polytechnique, University Professor at University of Vienna, Guest Professor at Uppsala University, and University of Tokyo, Honorary Professor at JNCASR, TIFR, IACS, and SNBNCBS.

Selected Professional Activities

- Chairperson, BRICS Working Group on Materials Science and Nanotechnology, Department of Science and Technology (DST) (2020-).
- Chairperson, Expert Committee for DST's SAIF Expansion Scheme
- Chairperson, Board of Governors, Institute of Nanoscience and Technology, Mohali (2018-2021).
- Chairperson, Review Panel for New Project proposals, TIFR, Mumbai (2017).
- Member, Council of Indian Academy of Sciences, 2016-2018.
- Chairperson, Chemical Sciences -FIST, DST, 2016-2020.
- Chairperson, Research Advisory Board, Centre for Nano and Soft Matter Sciences, Bengaluru (2015-2018).
- Chairperson, Research Council, National Chemical Laboratories, Pune (2010-2013 and 2013-2016).
- Member, Council of Indian National Science Academy, 2009-2011.
- Member, Board of Trustees (2019-2022) and General Council, (2008-2010), Asia-Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP), South Korea.
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board, CRANN and AMBER, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland (2012-)
- Chairperson, International Proposal Review Committee, Elettra Synchrotron Centre, Trieste, Italy, 2003-2010